sweetbynature.blogg.se

My name is Joanna and I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 22. Other than having diabetes I am also an athlete, student, girlfriend, swimcoach, receptionist, boardmember, avid baker, and the list goes on... Interested to learn more? - then read my blog why dont you ;)

Bloodsugar rollercoaster and family visits

Kategori: Allmänt

Its been a week and half now since the Iron Man and I have definetely been motivated to do more races after that one.. Ive now signed up for Stockholm half marathon which is in 17 days. However, I do not want to sign up for the Kalmar Iron Man next year - why? you might wonder.. 

My reason is; I want to be able to improve my time the next time I do it and I need to become a better runner and cyclist to do that and I will not be able to reach those goals in just one year - it would be ME to sign up for next year thinking that sure I could pull that off! But after completing my first Iron Man I realize what goes into it, the past year has been filled with a lot of pressure and I have struggled quite a lot juggling diabetes, training and quite the instabile job situation. Now I am going back to school on monday and I am sure that will bring further changes to my everyday life, therefor I am going to give myself time before I do my next Iron Man. 

The goal I have put up for myself now is to train towards breaking 4hrs in the marathon, I have not set a time when I want it to happen, but I will train as hard as I can while still being kind to my body and not push my diabetes and health to its breaking point, like I have this past year. Do not get me wrong, I plan on training as much or more than I did last year, I just want to do it in a better and a less stressed/pressured way! 

Anhyhow.. enough about the GOALS! 

This past 8 days Mr. Cs mom and aunt have been visiting, even his brotherinlaw came in for the weekend (he was on a businesstrip in Germany). Its been an intense, eventful and exciting days showing them around the city. I really enjoy being a tourist in my own city from time to time - Stockholm is so beautiful!! STOLT 08:a!!

While they have been here I have worked a lot, more than half time last week and more than full time this week. So I am running on little sleep and rest, but I like it.. it keeps my mind of the bad bloodsugars I have been having. I have schedueled my work in the mornings, no late shifts so I have been able to join in on every dinner and I took a long weekend and had friday through monday off which was super nice! 

I have also gotten back into working out again after my Iron man, ran twice, did yoga, lifting and a bodyweight/cardio workout, so sore now haha but it feels good!

As I said my bloodsugar has not been the best, it's been up and down ever since the Iron Man, in the beginning I believed it was related to not getting much insulin at all for 24hrs during raceday (forgetting my lantus shot). But now I have no idea why it is acting this way. The past two days I have had good bs, the week before that I have had extreme highs of 20mmol/L (extreme for me) and had two hypos (bs below 3.5mmol/l) last week as well, before then I had not had a hypo in a few months. I know this must all be related to the Iron Man, but now I really dont know how to get back on track. As i said, the past 2 days it was good but then today it has been so crappy! I had a long workday yesterday between 10am-7pm and the whole time it stayed above 12, with a high of 18mmol/L. I fed myself with more and more insulin while eating something with a little carbs every time to help the insulin bite onto something and work better. Of course when I left work I plummeted and struggled making it to our dinner reservation at Hermans (was delicious). By the time I was eating I had already been agitated with Mr. C too many times.. It's bad, but when my bs drop like that I have no patience, what's good is that I usually don't take it out on anyone other than him or my mom, but they should not have to suffer - I need to get better at keeping it together at all times that's for sure!!

We went to Sandhamn the other day, was very beautiful!! Stockholm and it's surroundings are so awesome 👍😋





And before that we took emelie into the city and Mr. Cs mom took this awesome pic of us! 


Have a good one!

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: