sweetbynature.blogg.se

My name is Joanna and I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at the age of 22. Other than having diabetes I am also an athlete, student, girlfriend, swimcoach, receptionist, boardmember, avid baker, and the list goes on... Interested to learn more? - then read my blog why dont you ;)

Working out with diabetes type 1 is a uphill battle...

Kategori: Allmänt

This morning on my way to work I biked by kungsträdgården and saw all the athletes doing the Ö till Ö tomorrow walking over to the harbor there.. I am guessing the prerace transportation out to Sandhamn was this morning. It really made me excited to work towards getting there myself eventually! To qualify for Ö till Ö either you have to place well in a qualifying competition (Amfibiemannen and Utö Swimrun are just two of them) or you have to win a spot in a lottery. Long term goal for me is to complete the Ö till Ö, but I am giving myself a few years until it NEEDS to happen :)
 
Yesterday I ran home from work, took a detour that I thught would make 10km (was only 9km). I thought starting on a bs at 11ish would allow me to run for about 55min only refueling maybe with some sugartabs. Already at 5km I started feeling that my legs were not responding as normal, therfore I took two sugar tabs and thought it would be okay, but then about 1.6km later they were not responding at all.. there was truly nothing in them to keep my knees moving up and feet forward. My head kept telling me to keep moving, but eventually my body said NO. I continued moving foward but walked instead and called Mr. C because I told him I would be home at a certain time and didnt want to worry him (it would take longer to get home walking). I told him I was struggling and the first thing he asked was if I had checked my sugar, I had not and did not want to because that meant taking off my backpack and I didnt have much energy to do so ( I should have figured that I had to test my sugar). He convinced me to take out my meter, at first I grab my wallet and am not really sure what I am doing (another hint that I am low), my bs was at 4.2.. not very low you might think? But I had been at 11 when I started running, so the drop from 11 to 4 is not the best while excercising - also - dropping below 6 never works for me while working out, I loose all energy, its like its immediately sucked out of my legs. He left home to go meet up with me since I wasnt feeling great (Isnt he awesome?? ;) )
 
Training with diabetes is an uphill battle that I am going to win! :)
 
One of the conquering diabetes days will be september 13th when I am running the Sthlm halfmarathon.
 
Later we had a great pasta dinner and I had my very longed for chill night on the couch! IT WAS SOOOOO NEEDED!!!
 
Now tonight I am preparing for starting school tomorrow... CANNOT BELIEVE I am going BACK TO SCHOOL again!!! I hope I meet a lot of awesome people and have a lot of fun tomorrow, we are ending the day with brännboll (swedish version of baseball, but more social and not as competetive) with my new classmates  :)

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: